Heritage

Introduction

Definition of heritage

Heritage refers to any object or collection, natural or cultural, tangible or intangible, that the francophone community recognized for its value as evidence and historical testimony involving the need to protect, conserve, to appropriate, to put value and pass it on.

The Franco-Ontarian heritage, a collective wealth in constant evolution!

Ontario has a population of over half a million individuals whose mother tongue is French which represents the most important francophone community out of Quebec province.

Throughout the years, immigration has led to a growing population of francophones with different origins. In this context, one of the challenges is to define the present and future historic Franco-Ontarian community.

The Franco-Ontarian community consists of the open and inclusive population that bases its collective development on language and joint institutions, and who shares not only a heritage but also multicultural traits.  

400 years of francophone presence, a heritage worth sharing!

Heritage is the common trait that unites all Francophones living in Ontario. It is a development tool in the building of the identity and pride for all Franco-Ontarians.

PARTENAIRES

Patrimoine

Introduction

Définition du patrimoine

Le patrimoine désigne tout objet ou ensemble, naturel ou culturel, matériel ou immatériel, que la communauté francophone reconnaît pour ses valeurs de témoignage et de mémoire historiques impliquant la nécessité de le protéger, de le conserver, de se l’approprier, de le mettre en valeur et de le transmettre.

Le patrimoine franco-ontarien, une richesse collective en évolution constante !

L’Ontario français, avec une population de langue maternelle française en croissance chiffrée à plus d’un demi-million d’individus, représente la plus importante collectivité francophone hors Québec.

Au fil des ans, l’immigration a donné lieu à une proportion croissante de francophones d’origines diverses. Dans ce contexte, un des enjeux est de définir la communauté franco-ontarienne historique, actuelle et future.

La communauté franco-ontarienne constitue une population ouverte et inclusive qui assume son développement collectif sur les bases d’une langue et d’institutions communes, et qui partage un patrimoine ainsi que des traits multiculturels.

400 ans de présence francophone, un patrimoine à partager !

Le patrimoine, c’est le point commun qui unit tous les francophones qui vivent en Ontario. Il est un outil concret de développement de l’identité et de la fierté franco-ontariennes.

PARTENAIRES